Select Page


Sully Erna (Lead vocals, drums, rhythm guitar, percussion and keyboard ) decided to start a new band in Boston, New England, USA in February 1995, titled Scam, he was joined by Robbie Merrill (Bass), Lee Richards (Lead guitar) and Tommy Stewart (Drums and percussion). After recording one demo the name of the band was quickly changed to Godsmack.

Their songs ‘Keep Away’ and ‘Whatever’ were locally popular and soon saw them top the hit charts in the Boston/New England area. Tony Rombola (Lead guitar and backing vocals) and Joe D’Arco(Drums and percussion) joined the band in 1996 after Stewart and Richards left the band. The band recorded their first CD album ‘All Wound Up’ in 1996. The CD became hit after the evening DJ for Boston Radio Station WAAF (FM,) Rocko, acquired a copy and played it at high rotation making it #1 on the Stations Hit Chart. The New England record chain store Newbury Comics agreed to sell the CD on consignment.

After this success, the band went back to recording a single ‘Whatever’ which quickly became the new favorite on WAAF(FM). Godsmack signed up with Universal/Republic Records label in 1998. Joe D’Arco was dismissed from the band the same year and was replaced by former drummer Tommy Stewart returning to the band. ‘All Wound Up’ the band’s first studio recording was reworked and the retitled CD album ‘Godsmack’ was released and debuted the USA Billboard 200 at #22 , was certified by the RIAA Gold in 1999 and eventually reaching certified RIAA 4xPlatinum in 2001. Four successful singles were released off the album: ‘Voodoo’; ‘Bad Religion’; ‘Whatever’ and ‘Keep Away’.

The second studio album ‘Awake’ was released in October 2000 and the album entered the USA Billboard 200 at #5 and was RIAA certified 2xPlatinum. The band also won the 2001 Billboards awards for ‘Rock Artist of the Year’. The song ‘Vampires’ was nominated for the ‘Best Rock Instrumental Performance’ at the 2002 Grammy Awards. The United States Navy used two songs off the album ‘Sick of Life’ and ‘Awake’ as background music in commercials. For the soundtrack of The Scorpion King (the third in the Mummy saga sequels), Sully Erna was asked to write and sing a song – the song ‘I Stand Alone’ was a hit, rode #1 and was on the charts for 14 straight weeks. It was also the most actively played song of 2002. The song was also used in the video game Prince of Persia: Warrior Within. Tommy Stewart left for a second time in 2002 and was replaced Shannon Larkin (Drums and percussion).

In 2003 the band released their third studio album ‘Faceless’ which debuted at #1 on the USA Billboard 200. The album also debuted at #9 on the Top Canadian Album, #1 on the Top Internet Albums and remained there for a fortnight. The first single ‘Straight Out Of Line’ off the album was nominated for ‘Best Hard Rock Performance’ at the 2003 Grammy Awards. An Acoustic EP ‘The Other Side’ was released in March 2004; it debuted at #5 on the USA Billboard 200.

Godsmack released its fourth studio album ‘IV’ in April 2006, the album debuted at #1 on the USA Billboard 200 and was certifiedRIAA Gold. The first single ‘Speak’ off the album was released in February 2006. A celebration ‘Greatest Hits’ album titled ‘Good Times, Bad Times… Ten Years of Godsmack’ was released in December 2007, debuting at #5 on the USA Billboards 200. In 2008 the band released a straight off single ‘Whisky Hangover’. May 2010 saw the release of the fifth album ‘The Oracle’, debuting at #1 on the USA Billboard Charts. Godsmack released their live album ‘Live & Inspired’ in May 2012’. The band released their sixth studio album titled ‘1000hp’ in August 2014, the album peaking at#3 on the USA Billboard 200 chart. The first single titled ‘1000hp’ off the album was released in June 2014. Godsmack is now stationed in Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA. The 6th August was declared by the Mayor of Boston, Marty Walsh, as ‘Godsmack Day’ in the city. In just over a decade the band has sold over twenty million records.

Godsmack’s studio discography:
Godsmack (1998)
Awake (2000)
Faceless (2003)
IV (2006)
The Oracle (2010)
1000hp (2014)