Select Page

Lamb of God is a metal band from Richmond, Virginia. They were formed by guitarists Mark Morton and Matt Conner, bassist John Campbell and drummer Chris Adler in 1994, under the name Burn the Priest. Steve Austin of Today Is the Day produced the band’s first self-titled album in 1997. After having undergone a few line-up changes, the band signed to Prosthetic Records and decided to change their name to Lamb of God. In September 2000 the band with a new label and a new name, released its second album New American Gospel. The album was praised by critics and contributed in creating a large fan base. On May 6, 2003 their third album As the Palaces Burn was released, establishing them as one of the leading acts of New Wave of American Heavy Metal movement. Five more studio albums followed, with VII: Sturm und Drang released in 2015 being their latest.

Their current line-up comprises Randy Blythe (vocals), Mark Morton (guitar), Willie Adler (guitar), Chris Adler (drums) and John Campbell (bass). The band’s line-up has remained stable since 1997.

Their music genres are groove metal, metalcore and thrash metal; the band is noted for their fierce and energetic songs, presenting rather aggresive yet groovy guitar riffs.

Their catalogue consists of seven studio albums, one studio album under the name Burn The Priest, one live album and one compilation album. Studio discography:
Burn the Priest (1999) (as Burn the Priest)
New American Gospel (2000)
As the Palaces Burn (2003)
Ashes of the Wake (2004)
Sacrament (2006)
Wrath (2009)
Resolution (2012)
VII: Sturm und Drang (2015)