The Pretty Reckless

Taylor Momsen performing.
Foto: Stefan Brending / Lizenz: Creative Commons CC-by-sa-3.0 de

The American Rock band The Reckless was originally formed in New York, New York USA, in 2009 and consisted of Taylor Momsen (Lead singer and rhythm guitar), John Socolo (guitar), Matt Chiarelli (Bass) and Nick Cabone (Drums). Their name was changed from The Reckless to The Pretty Reckless due to trademark problems. In December the band released a new promo ‘Make Me Wanna Die’ and the song was offered as a limited-time free download on theirInterscope Records website.

Read Full Article

The song also appeared as a launch on the 2010 film Kick-Ass where it appeared in the ends of the credits. It was also the band’s first single released in May 2010. Secolo, Chiarelli andCarbone left The Pretty Reckless in 2010. In their place Ben Phillips (Lead guitar), Jamie Perkins (Drums) and Mark Damon (Bass) joined the band. The signing up with the InterscopeRecords label took place in 2010. And after the signing two recordings of demo songs ‘He Loves You’ and ‘Zombie’ were released on their Myspace. The band released an EP in June 2010 with the songs: ‘Make Me Wanna Die’, ‘My Medicine’, ‘Goin’Down’. The Pretty Reckless’ debut album ‘Light Me Up’ was due to be released in August 2010, but was delayed until February 2011. The band’s second single ‘Miss Nothing’ off their album was released in the UK in August 2010 and a video of the song was also released. The first single released in the USA was ‘Just Tonight’. Two singles, ‘You’ and ‘My Medicine’, were released off the album in 2012 and videos thereof were also released. The release of their second EP ‘Hit Me Like A Man’ was also released in March 2012. In December 2012 the band released their fourth single ‘Kill Me’. The song was also featured at the end of the series Gossip Girls final episode.

September 2013 saw The Pretty Reckless signing up with the Razor & Tie label. In November 2013 the band released their first single ‘Heaven Knows’ off the new album. The Pretty Reckless released their second studio album ‘Going To Hell’ in March 2014. The Pretty Reckless became the first female-fronted band to reach #1 on the Radio Rock chart with its first two single releases ‘Heavens Knows’ and ‘Messed Up World’ in September 2014. The 2014 Kerrang! Awards the band won 2014 Hottest Female “Taylor Momsen”. The Pretty Reckless’ genres are: Hard Rock; Alternative Rock and Post-grunge.

The Pretty Reckless Mentions From Around the Web

In Concert: The Pretty Reckless

In Concert: The Pretty Reckless by Arta Gailuma – Photojournalist — December 10, 2017 at Palladium in Cologne, Germany — Even though The Pretty Reckless, in only three albums, have managed to gain quite a fan following, this evening in Palladium for their set the crowd was not the most responsive. On the first beats of “Heaven Knows,” Taylor was asking the crowd to participate in singing along if they know the song. They either didn’t know it or couldn’t be bothered, either way, that request hit pretty deaf ears, this crowd was obviously here for Stone Sour. It did not weaken the band’s performance at all. Taylor Momsen’s vocals stayed imprinted on the brain for hours after the concert was accompanied by beautiful lights was a show definitely worth seeing. The Pretty Reckless proved with, good reason, why they won this year’s APMA’s title of Best Hard Rock band. Band: